Can I Come In?

As a literacy coach, the first few days of school can feel somewhat awkward.  We have not yet started our one-on-one coaching cycles, and we have not yet launched our small group PLCs.  What is a coach to do?  I helped out in the kindergarten room taking lunch count, I reorganized the Book Room, and I distributed all the student DRA folders and writing portfolios.  I compiled a list of first day read-alouds and stacked the books in my office for teachers to grab.  I hung some PD posters in the bathroom and copy room.  But, where I really want to be is in the classrooms.

So before leaving for the weekend today, I sent the following email to the teachers:

Hello, everyone.  I would love to come into your classrooms next week and begin working with you! 

I’d be happy to:

  • Teach a lesson from the First Twenty Days
  • Help you launch writer’s notebooks
  • Talk to your kids about Slice of Life writing and share some of my own
  • Demonstrate lesson(s) based on the CCSS
  • Do a few reading or writing one-on-one conferences together
  • Help you form and teach some initial invitational groups
  • Practice taking and analyzing running records together
  • Do some one-on-one conferences together based on the six systems
  • Give a couple of book chats on some great books
  • Introduce myself and read-aloud one of my favorite picture books
  • Help you get started with Words Their Way

There will be a sign-up form in your mailbox that you can return to me, or you can simply reply to this email.  Let me know a day and time that I can come in!

I also put a hard copy of this list in the teacher’s mailboxes.  The paper copy also has an “other” option where teachers can write in any additional requests.

I received several requests for support before I even left for the day, and I am so happy to get into some classrooms next week to start forming new relationships with teachers and students.

How do you typically begin your coaching work?

 

2 thoughts on “Can I Come In?

  1. I’m thrilled to have found your blog. I set up some new books & sent out an email inviting teachers to swing by & read one to their class. My first week has been helping with bulletin boards, organizing libraries & doing odds & ins. This is my first year out of the classroom so I look forward to your tweets & posts.

    Like

  2. Hi Dana, I didn’t know about your blog, and love that I found it (via twitter). I feel the same way. Our students start tomorrow, so I’ve visited/touched base with everyone, handed out books I thought might be helpful to some teachers, shared poems with others, but am trying to be patient. I’ll send out a letter next week too to see how we can start, in the classroom and meeting one on one. Will be sure to follow you here! Best wishes on your start!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

