Participation in Coaching Cycles

I recently received the following comment:

Thank you! I visited your blog and have started following you as I found your coaching entries interesting! We are trying to figure out what our coaching model will look like and after listening to Jim Knight last week, your post makes a lot of sense. How does your district, or department, decide who will be in your coaching cycle? We are attempting to solidify our own priority pool and would love to hear how others are making it work! Thank you!

The short answer is coaching cycles are voluntary and offered on a first-come, first-serve basis.  Here is a longer answer:

Early in the year at a staff meeting, I always re-introduce the concept of coaching.  I briefly discuss the purpose of a coach and how coaching typically looks in the classroom.  Our school has had a literacy coach in the building for at least eight years, so coaching is not a new concept to most of our staff.  After a brief review, I offer each literacy teacher a sign-up slip.  They must complete the slip right there at the staff meeting, either volunteering for a coaching cycle or respectfully declining at this time.  I ask them to make their choice and hand me the sheet on their way out the door.  This adds a small amount of pressure and insures 100% completion.  This year, the slip looked like this:

Coaching Cycle Sign-Up Slip

Coaching Cycle Sign-Up Slip

This usually provides me with at least enough participants to begin a first round of coaching cycles.  Since coaching is offered first come, first serve, I save the “yes” slips which don’t get chosen.  These will eventually become my second (or third) round participants.

In the past, I have left flyers in staff mailboxes when I know I’m coming up to another round of cycles:

Top Ten

 

I also keep an ongoing list on my Google Drive of every coaching opportunity that arises during the year.  At a staff meeting, during a study group, or even in the copy room…if a teacher approaches me with a question or a comment about anything literacy related, I add it to my list.  If I am ever looking for coaching opportunities, I will use this list as a conversation-starter and to get my foot in the door.

Although I am always encouraging participation, sign-up itself is completely voluntary.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

